Meet Dr. Thomas Chou

Thomas Chou, DMD

Practicing orthodontics has been a great blessing for me. It is a professional that has allowed me to give a gift to others while making a living for myself and my family. Every individual case is different, as is every person. I look forward to going to work every day as I get to interact with interesting adolescents and adults who are happy to show off their smiles at the conclusion of their orthodontic treatment.

It gives me great joy to see patients who are happy with their new smiles following orthodontic treatment. Straight teeth with a beautiful smile can be a great self-esteem and confidence booster for any individual, and it gives me great satisfaction to be able to give patients that gift.

I truly enjoy getting to know my patients on an individual basis. Since I see a patient once a month for several years in most cases, I really feel as though we build a friendship. I love learning about their hobbies and interests, watching the kids as they grow up and mature, and most of all, just knowing that my team and I made a difference in our patients’ lives by improving their smile and bite.

Education and Continuing Education

I received my undergraduate degree from Brown University then went to Tufts Dental School for my Doctorate of Dental Medicine. I practiced general dentistry for five years before going back to Boston University to specialize in orthodontics, completing my specialty training in 1988.

My thirst for education did not stop after graduation. I consistently take continuing education through classes and professional journals to keep up with the latest trends in orthodontics. My patients see the benefits in a number of ways, including faster treatment times and more comfortable treatment options.

Professional Affiliations

  • American Association of Orthodontists
  • American Dental Association
  • Santa Clara Dental Society
  • Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists

Outside the Office

Originally from Boston, MA, I have lived in the Bay area since 1996. My wife, Kathy, and I have four children between the ages of 13 and 24, and a pet dog named Gucci. I love spending quality time with my family, but when I can, I also enjoy coaching and volunteering with local youth soccer programs. Not only is it a good way to give back to the community, it’s also a great thrill to see kids enjoying themselves so much and learning to work as a team. A few of my other leisure activities include cooking, traveling, and, of course, finding time to spend on the golf course.

InvisalignInvisalign Teen